RSS

Daily Archives: August 20, 2010

Accidental flying

I take three buses to my first student. Every now and again, the bus drivers run an intensive testing period to see if the passengers are awake.

In short… I hurt… all over.

I was tucked into the window seat just in front of the conductor. The driver had filled up with kangaroo juice and was testing his brakes and steering system to the limit. In peak hour traffic, that takes some doing.

I reached into my bag to get my bus card out just as the driver grew wings to take the last S-bend before my stop.

Now I’m not gravity-challenged and I’m definitely no feather-weight. It takes a lot to part me with gravity. When I sit, I’m firmly planted. Not this time. As he took the corner, I sailed across, out of my seat, across the neighbouring seat, and into the aisle, landing in a heap on the opposite side of the the bus against the other seats. Gravity remembered me… with a vengeance! As I said, I hurt *hobbles off into the sunset… make that ‘sunrise’*

fall
This picture makes me very, very grateful that I wear pants to work!

Great way to start the day!

I tend to stop and talk to the animals along my way and passing dog walkers are easy game. One dog came up to sniff and I patted him and chatted to him. His owner launched into an account of how she’s going to complain about the bank she was just at because they wouldn’t let her dog (slightly bigger than a fox terrier) in even though he’s her ‘bengala’. Now ‘bengala’ is a walking stick. How on earth can a dog on a soft leather leash be a walking stick for someone, who, incidentally, was walking just fine. I suggested, hesitantly, that perhaps if she carried a document saying he is exempt from the usual rules banning animals in banks, she may avoid problems in future. Apparently she has a document and they refused to acknowledge it. Now I’m an ardent defender of the sick, the lame and the helpless, but I couldn’t help thinking this time that I wasn’t very surprised that they raised an eyebrow at her claim.

Eh…. what a week it’s been. I’m glad tomorrow is Friday. I’ll go in, teach, then pay the rent and get my butt home to unwind.

 

Technorati Tags: ,,
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 20, 2010 in life, people, transport

 

Tags: , ,

 
The Druids Garden

Spiritual journeys in tending the living earth, permaculture, and nature-inspired arts

Purple Herbal

Sharing My Passion For Nature With The World

Furious Curious Cancer Survivor

I would have beaten any type of cancer

The imperfect cooks

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Solaris

Welcome to the real world

Forest and Fungi

Part of my journey to contribute to a more beautiful world...

tywyllseren

Musings From an Alternate Universe

cancer killing recipe

Inspiration for meeting life's challenges.

Speaking in Symbols

Learning the language of the subconcious

Artworks of Anna O Dixon

Indulge in the beauty that surrounds us

Ian Waldick

The Adventures of an Irish Farmer

Rolbos ©

Living the life of the common people.

The Millennium Conjectures™

A Blog of the Ridiculous and Sublime, by Mark Sackler

Whispering Earth

Nature patiently waits and we have only to turn back to her to find relief from our suffering - Dr Bach

Otrazhenie

Reflection

biocreativity

art. biology. creativity. science. design. nature.

Some Wonderland

Not Alice's kind of wonderland