RSS

Yes, they can be pretty

17 Dec

3-tatiana visa photo - 28-12-2009_3430 copy

The timing is perfect for this photo. It’s a time when we, as a family, have been having a great number of passport-type photos taken for various bureaucratic processes.

In December 2009, my little bird was planning to fly the nest. It was a very exciting and very scary time for us all. She wasn’t just leaving home, but going to the opposite end of the earth (or so it felt… just across the Atlantic really). There were forms to be filled in, visas to deal with, belongings to sort through and the whole letting go process. I was the official passport photo photographer of the family. I’d just finished doing Tat’s visa photo and was sitting gazing at that lovely face. I don’t usually apply special effects to photos, but that day, I was clicking away at the photo and seeing what effects it produced.

Ah, my little girl… so beautiful, even in the dreaded passport/visa photos. See? Passport photos can be pretty! I do, however, hope that this latest run of officialdom is the last we’ll do for a little while. What say you?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in tat, tatiana

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Yes, they can be pretty

  1. somewonderland

    December 17, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    passport photos used to be something plausible. It was a hard but possible to achieve task when one could bring in own photos for the documents. Nowadays our passport desks are taking these photos themselves, and believe me when I tell you that 2-3 takes do not necessarily provide at least one decent shot one would like to see for the next 10 years. So now I have a ‘OK, I can take this’ sort of passport, and ‘OMG that’s AWFUL’ kind of ID card :D

     
    • tintalasia

      December 18, 2013 at 11:41 pm

      Tatiana’s lucky… she manages to look lovely in all her photos, but me? It’s very hit and miss and usually a miss. Lighting and facial expression have to be ‘just so’ for me to look even passable. Sadly, official photos don’t cut it. I can live with it. Thankfully I don’t need to show those photos too often.

       
      • somewonderland

        December 19, 2013 at 9:21 am

        Tat is very lucky in that case, :) And yes, not having to show ugly document you too often helps. though my best salvation nowadays is my driver’s ID. At the time I got it, one was allowed to smile in those photos, so I have a really awesome photo on that one. Unfortunately it will expire pretty soon and I’ll have to get a new one with no smile :(

         
      • tintalasia

        January 11, 2014 at 12:46 pm

        I look like a grouchy old hag in non-smiling photos, so I’ve learned to just lift the corners of my mouth ever so slightly to offset that. It at least makes me look less grim, but still not exactly pretty. Official photos are the pits.

         
  2. Lyagushka (Meirav)

    December 18, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    oh, I love messing around with photos, and I reckon these kind of pics are just asking for it :)

     
  3. Tatiana

    December 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Pffft I look like a boy in that photo! LOL! And you do so look pretty in some of your photos! Bearing in mind, I DO have ugly official photos. When mum went off official photo duty, I struggled. LOL

     
    • tintalasia

      January 11, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      Totally not boyish, but I agree, there are a couple of less-than-desirable pics. *laughing at the ‘official photo duty’*

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Druid's Garden

Spiritual Journeys in Tending the Land, Permaculture, Wildcrafting, and Regenerative Living

Purple Herbal

Sharing My Passion For Nature With The World

Furious Curious Cancer Survivor

I would have beaten any type of cancer

The imperfect cooks

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Solaris

Welcome to the real world

Forest and Fungi

Part of my journey to contribute to a more beautiful world...

tywyllseren

Musings From an Alternate Universe

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Speaking in Symbols

Learning the language of the subconcious

The Happy Living People Project

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Bonofa 'The Future is Now'

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Ian Waldick

The Adventures of an Irish Farmer

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Rolbos ©

Living the life of the common people.

The Millennium Conjectures™

A Blog of the Ridiculous and Sublime, by Mark Sackler

CivilizationsEnd.com

Be Prepared- a simple mans idea's

Whispering Earth

Nature patiently waits and we have only to turn back to her to find relief from our suffering - Dr Bach

Otrazhenie

Reflection

biocreativity

art. biology. creativity. science. design. nature.

Some Wonderland

Not Alice's kind of wonderland

